Skip to main content
SPECIAL EDUCATION

Special Education is a specialized instruction provided for children from birth to age 22 who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA 2004).  A student may qualify for Special Education services as an individual with special needs in one of the following areas:  Deaf/hard of hearing, Deaf-Blind, Visually impaired, Speech-Language impaired, Specific Learning Disability, Orthopedically impaired, Intellectually Disabled, Emotionally Disturbed, Autism, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Other Health Impaired.  A student receives support from Special Education as identified on his/her Individual Education Plan.

 

Scotts Valley Unified School District offers a continuum of Special Education support which includes:  push-in, resource, and Special Day Classes.

 

At each IEP meeting, the team is required to consider a continuum of options for service, beginning with the least restrictive.  Their job is to determine which combination of services provides the required benefits with the least restriction in environment.  Federal law requires that the placement be as close as possible to the child's home, and that the child is educated in the school he or she would attend if non-disable, unless the IEP team determines that the child requires some other arrangements.

Special Education Programs/Directory

Scotts Valley serves a wide range of students with special needs: 

  • Students that have mild to moderate disabilities are typically served within Scotts Valley Unified School District.  Students with mild to moderate disabilities may have learning disabilities, speech and language delays, minor health disabilities, or have a mild form of autism. 
  • Students with moderate to severe disabilities, including severely handicapped, pre-school through 5th grade are frequently served by Scotts Valley Unified School District.   Additionally Pre-school through 22-years may be served by other programs determined to appropriately provide a public education. 

If you suspect your child has a disability, do not hesitate to contact the Director of Special Education or your site administrator.

Early detection and intervention is important!

Special Education Personnel

Director of Student Services                  

Dr. Steven T. Hoy
(831) 438-1820 ext. 103
shoy@scottsvalleyusd.org

School Psychologist                   

Michelle Hodsdon
mhodsdon@scottsvalleyusd.org               

Administrative Assistant

Vanessa Chamberlain
(831) 438-1820 ext. 102
vchamberlain@scottsvalleyusd.org

Adapted Physical Education  (APE)                   

Lewis LaHood
llahood@scottsvalleyusd.org

Behavior Support Aide

Leslie Gerlack
lgerlack@scottsvalleyusd.org

Occupational Therapy

Rachel Marshall
rmarshall@scottsvalleyusd.org

Brook Knoll Special Education Teachers/Providers

K-5:  Mild-to-Moderate

Samantha Nielsen

snielsen@scottsvalleyusd.org                  

Resource Teacher

Lisa Jacobs

ljacobs@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech

Georgia Cambra

gcambra@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech

Jeanelle Babitzke

jbabitzke@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

Vine Hill Special Education Teachers/Providers

Resource Teacher

Denise Hitzeman

dhitzeman@scottsvalleyusd.org                 

 

Speech

Kirsten Maure

kmaure@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

 

 

Middle School Special Education Teachers/Providers

Mild-to-Moderate Special Day                    

Chris Cheman

ccheman@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

Caitlyn Reynolds

creynolds@scottsvalleyusd.org

Resource Teacher

Liz Pennington

lpennington@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

Caitlyn Reynolds

creynolds@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech

Bonnie Litton

blitton@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

 

 

 

High School Special Education Teachers/Providers

Resource / Mild-to-Moderate

Special Day Class Teachers:

Erik Axelsson
eaxelsson@scottsvalleyusd.org   

 

Lori Blair
lblair@scottsvalleyusd.org
      

                   

Jenny Daniels
jdaniels@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

Speech

Bonnie Litton
blitton@scottsvalleyusd.org