Logo
Contacts
Administration Board of Education Board Policies Educational Services Finance Food Services Human Resources Technology Services
New Middle School Site Plan Comprehensive SVMS Construction Project SVMS Campus Project CEQA (California Environmental Quality Act) Measure A Bond Citizen Oversight Committee Adopted Ed Specifications Requests for Sealed Proposals for the SVMS Campus Modernization Project
Accountability ADA Access Childcare Community Emergency Information Frequently Asked Questions Important Documents News
School Directory Enrollment Forms Students and Parents
Paypal

SPECIAL EDUCATION

Special Education is a specialized instruction provided for children from birth to age 22 who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA 2004).  A student may qualify for Special Education services as an individual with special needs in one of the following areas:  Deaf/hard of hearing, Deaf-Blind, Visually impaired, Speech-Language impaired, Specific Learning Disability, Orthopedically impaired, Intellectually Disabled, Emotionally Disturbed, Autism, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Other Health Impaired.  A student receives support from Special Education as identified on his/her Individual Education Plan.

 

Scotts Valley Unified School District offers a continuum of Special Education support which includes:  push-in, resource, and Special Day Classes.

 

At each IEP meeting, the team is required to consider a continuum of options for service, beginning with the least restrictive.  Their job is to determine which combination of services provides the required benefits with the least restriction in environment.  Federal law requires that the placement be as close as possible to the child's home, and that the child is educated in the school he or she would attend if non-disable, unless the IEP team determines that the child requires some other arrangements.

Special Education Programs/Directory

Scotts Valley serves a wide range of students with special needs: 

  • Students that have mild to moderate disabilities are typically served within Scotts Valley Unified School District.  Students with mild to moderate disabilities may have learning disabilities, speech and language delays, minor health disabilities, or have a mild form of autism. 
  • Students with moderate to severe disabilities, including severely handicapped, pre-school through 5th grade are frequently served by Scotts Valley Unified School District.   Additionally Pre-school through 22-years may be served by other programs determined to appropriately provide a public education. 

If you suspect your child has a disability, do not hesitate to contact Director of Educational Services Sharlene Ames at 438-1820 ext 102. 

Early detection and intervention is important!

SPECIAL EDUCATION PERSONNEL

Director of Student Support Services     

Sharlene Ames

(831) 438-1820 ext. 103

sames@scottsvalleyusd.org

District Psychologist

Cardiff Hamilton

chamilton@scottsvalleyusd.org                        

Administrative Assistant

Charlotte Multer

(831) 438-1820 ext. 102

cmulter@scottsvalleyusd.org

District Psychologist

Sherry Skold

sskold@scottsvalleyusd.org

Student Services Program Specialist   

Lisa Mendez

(831) 438-1820 ext. 118

lmendez@scottsvalleyusd.org

District Psychologist

Erick Berglund

eberglund@scottsvalleyusd.org

Behavior Specialist

Eileen Shea

eshea@scottsvalleyusd.org

Behavior Support Aide

Leslie Gerlack

lgerlack@scottsvalleyusd.org

BROOK KNOLL SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHERS / PROVIDERS

Preschool:

Mild-to-Moderate / Moderate-to-Severe

Teacher:  Beth Gray

bgray@scottsvalleyusd.org

Resource Teacher

Lisa Jacobs

ljacobs@scottsvalleyusd.org

K-5:

Severely Handicapped / Moderate-to-Severe

Teacher:  Lindsay  McDermott

lmcdermott@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech (Pre-K & SDC)

Kirsten Maure

kmaure@scottsvalleyusd.org

K-5:  Mild-to-Moderate

Teacher:  Jenny Daniels

jdaniels@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech (RSP)

Sally Lussier

slussier@scottsvalleyusd.org                                        

Occupational Therapy

Vickie Wick

vwick@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech

Jeanelle Babitzke

jbabitzke@scottsvalleyusd.org

Occupational Therapy

Stephanie Knudtson

sknudtson@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

 

VINE HILL SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHERS / PROVIDERS

K-5:  Mild-to-Moderate

Teachers:  Amy Lauta & Amber Julian         

alauta@scottsvalleyusd.org

ajulian@scottsvalleyusd.org

Adapted Physical Education  (APE)                   

Lewis LaHood

llahood@scottsvalleyusd.org

Resource Teacher

Linda Wahler

lwahler@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

Occupational Therapy (OT)

Vickie Wick

vwick@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech

Lea Graff

lgraff@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHERS / PROVIDERS

Mild-to-Moderate Special Day                         

Teacher:  Chris Cheek

ccheek@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech

Paula Castagna

pcastagna@scottsvalleyusd.org

Resource Teacher

Liz Pennington

lpennington@scottsvalleyusd.org

Adapted Physical Education (APE)             

Lewis LaHood

llahood@scottsvalleyusd.org

Resource Teacher

Sheryl Butler

sbutler@scottsvalleyusd.org

Occupational Therapy (OT)

Vickie Wick

vwick@scottsvalleyusd.org

 

HIGH SCHOOL SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHERS / PROVIDERS

Resource / Mild-to-Moderate

Special Day Class Teachers:

Julie Shapland

jshapland@scottsvalleyusd.org

Judy Lukasiewicz

jlukasiewicz@scottsvalleyusd.org                      

Jenae Silvestri

jsilvestri@scottsvalleyusd.org

Occupational Therapy (OT)

Vickie Wick

vwick@scottsvalleyusd.org

Speech

Paula Castagna

pcastagna@scottsvalleyusd.org

Adapted Physical Education (APE)      

Lewis LaHood

llahood@scottsvalleyusd.org